Tags

, , ,

Sandra’s ‘Scrambled Eggs with Shrimp’ had me craving one of my favorite rustic Chinese dishes – stir fried eggs with tomatoes.  I remember as a kid during vacay trips to either set of grandparents, each on opposite coasts, both my grandmothers would often make this easy scramble on the fly.  I loved it – the sweetness of slightly caramelized tomatoes alongside a creamy egg scramble.  My sister, apparently, loved it more as it nowadays most often makes an appearance during her home cooked meals (note to self, overdue for a visit and one of these said meals).  But today, it would be my turn to eat and reminisce.

Mince green onions, garlic, and ginger; halve tomatoes.

Stir Fried Eggs and Tomatoes

Ingredients (serves two):

  • 3 free range eggs
  • half dozen cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 4-5 stalks of green onion, finely chopped (both green and white parts)
  • 1 tablespoon of finely minced ginger
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely minced
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • salt
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil

Heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil in a saute pan over medium high temperature.  In a bowl, whisk together eggs, a pinch of salt, and sesame oil.  Scramble eggs until the eggs are just beginning to set.  Remove and set aside.

Scrape the pan clean of any egg remnants and heat remaining oil over high temperature.  Add green onions, garlic, and ginger;  cook for a few minutes, constantly stirring, until fragrant.  Next, add tomatoes.  Once the tomatoes are just heated through, sprinkle sugar and combine.  Allow the mixture to cook for an additional 4-5 minutes, stirring  occasionally, until the tomatoes begin to slightly brown.  Finally, add the eggs back in and combine.  Season with additional salt to taste.

It made for a delicious lunch, and an even better dinner – with the addition of some imitation crab meat (I forgot the shrimp on my shopping list, Sandra!).  In each instance, I accompanied the scramble with a scoop of bulgur (my rice substitute these days) seasoned with a tiny bit of salt and a squeeze of sriracha.

As an added note, I stumbled upon a cool trick courtesy of The Kitchn… save a few green onion bulbs and place in a mason jar with a bit of water.  They will grow again!

.... make sure to change/replace water every once in a while.

