Tags

, , ,

Light and healthy eating is generally our way of living.  With the festivities and hoilday bingeing behind us, getting back to our “norm” feels good.  Recently, we ate out consecutively for 4-5 days – which was beyond my limit.  Now, I am ready to get back into the kitchen, amongst other things.  

Although I am not as diligent as Kathy is with her Crossfit (she’s a mad woman and looking rock solid), it is time to hit the gym again – time to get my arms and shoulders tank top ready!  The last time I worked out was in Mallorca – yep, many, many, many months ago.  I took a Crossfit class with Kathy, and couldn’t move for days.  If anyone wants a challenge, Crossfit would be it.  BTW… does anyone know how to get rid of batwings?  

Ok, back to food.  I was craving a simple salad, one of my many staples are tomatoes and avocados.  I decided to add shiso to the pairing to give an added dimension of flavor and a pop of freshness.  Shiso is a leafy herb commonly used in salads, sushi and sashimi.

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

Salad:
1 tomato, sliced
½ avocado, cubed
2 shiso leaves, chiffonade

Dressing:
½ teaspoon lemon juice
½ teaspoon rice vinegar
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon ponzu dressing
1 teaspoon mirin
1 teaspoon grape seed oil
1 small pinch sugar
Fresh black pepper, to taste

In small bowl, combine all ingredients for dressing.  Set aside.

Slice tomatoes, cube avocado, chiffonade shiso leaves, and plate.  Dress salad just prior to serving.  Add fresh ground pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

