Tags

,

Growing up, this was a dish my dad used to make that I loved. This is one memory that stays suspended in time – it will always take me back to place and time during my childhood youth. During the week, Dad worked days and Mom worked nights, so that someone was always home. It was usually just me and Dad sitting around the dinner table.

My mouth would water when I would smell the sweet aromas wafting out of the kitchen – I knew right away… it was Dad’s shrimp.

What I love about this dish is the tanginess of the sauce that got my appetite going – it’s a wonderful combination of sweet and sour, and salty.

Serves 2 (as a side dish)

Ingredients:

For Shrimp:
½ lb of large shrimp, shelled and deveined, tail intact
¼ teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 pinch sugar
2 teaspoons grape seed oil
1 teaspoon corn starch
1 pinch white pepper
1 tablespoon sake or sherry
1 green scallion, chopped 1″ length
3 ginger slices, thinly julienned
1 garlic clove, finely minced

For Cooking:
Black pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons grape seed oil

Sauce:
4 tablespoons ketchup
½ teaspoon rice wine vinegar
1 teaspoon sugar
4 tablespoons chicken stock

Directions:

Combine and mix all ingredients for sauce. Set aside.

Clean and devein shrimp. Rinse and pat very dry with paper towel. Season shrimp with salt, soy sauce, sugar, corn starch, white pepper, oil and sake. Set aside.

Finely slice and julienne ginger and mince garlic. Cut green onion into 1 inch pieces.

Heat a sauté pan or wok over high heat. Add oil and wait until hot. Add ginger and garlic and stir to infuse flavors. Once ginger and garlic are lightly brown and crispy (do not allow to burn) – remove immediately from wok and set aside.

Add shrimp to wok, and do not disturb until a caramelized crust is achieved on one side, about 1 minute. Turn over and caramelize other side, about 30 seconds. Then add green onion pieces and give a quick toss.

Now add sauce to shrimp and stir until mixture is hot, about 30 seconds.

Plate shrimp and sprinkle ginger and garlic on top.

Hope you enjoy it, Dad and I always did!

