Tags

, , , , , ,

As I shop for my weekly list of superfoods for breakfast, I am well received by warm and friendly smiles and greetings.  Many have grown accustomed to seeing me, like my strawberry purveyor – in turn, I reciprocate with a warm hello and ask how he is doing. 

After we briefly chat, I ask “Can I get a basket of your sweetest and ripest strawberries?”  I like to think he gives me the best basket he’s got.  And as an added bonus – he always gives me a handful of extra berries, which always keeps me coming back. 

Each and every weekday, Lolo and I begin our mornings with a light and healthy breakfast – it doesn’t leave us feeling heavy and weighed down.  It’s the perfect way to start the day.  I’m a big proponent of eating well to live better.  I suppose Lolo and I are one of the few lucky people who genuinely enjoy eating healthy.  

Living in the Los Angeles area, there is always have an abundance of fresh fruits available.  Fortunately, I am able to buy our staples on a year-round basis, and toss in seasonal fruit to keep things interesting.

The medley of fruits I usually include: blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries. 

At the moment, the Golden kiwi (yellow fleshed) has recently made its debut.  It’s a seasonal fruit, and its end is drawing near. 

The flesh is wonderfully sweet, mild and a golden yellow – less tart than the green variety.  I think it tastes more tropical.  Sadly, I picked up the last few left at the supermarket yesterday.  If not, the green kiwi is always available. 

For additional protein, I add a few sprinkles of raw walnuts.

Ingredients:
¼ cup blueberries
10 blackberries, halved
10 raspberries, halved
6 strawberries, chopped
1 golden kiwi, chopped
1 cup Greek non-fat yogurt
6 raw unsalted walnuts, chopped
1/3 cup granola
1 tsp honey (optional)

Wash all fruits.  I usually wash the kiwi too, even though skin is peeled.  Cut kiwi and strawberries the same size as other berries, slice blackberries in half or into thirds depending on size of fruit.  Chop walnuts. 

Combine fruit, nuts, yogurt, and granola.  I usually mix everything together. 

**Note, it may be a bit tart (due to the Greek yogurt) for those who like more sweetness – just add a squeeze of honey.

Let me know if you start to feel better after having this for breakfast – I sure did, especially with the holidays fast approaching! 

Enjoy!

