Tags

, ,

I’ve buried myself in work for the last week or so, hunched over my computer from morning until way past bedtime, with breaks taken only for a) gym b) cooking and eating c) blogging.  I had planned on a marathon work session for the weekend as well, but this morning the surprisingly sunny and balmy November day teased and tempted me to do otherwise.

Venturing into the city, I found these beautiful skinny and shiny green scallions at the supermarket.  Okay, I also found a couple of cashmere sweaters along the way that drew my love more than the scallions did, but the scallions caught my attention since I already had a recipe in mind and these ones looked quite perfect.

Simple Side: Scallions and Carrots (adapted from Saveur Issue #47)

Ingredients: (makes 2 large side servings or 4 smaller ones)

  • 3 bunches scallions, trimmed
  • 3 carrots, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey or agave syrup

Cut whites from scallions into 8 cm or 3 inch lengths.  Save the greens for another use. Cut carrots into matchsticks of the same length.

Heat oil in a skillet over high heat; add carrots and stir-fry for 1 minute. Next, add scallions and stir-fry until it just starts to brown, 2–3 minutes.  Finally, add butter, soy sauce, and agave syrup; cook for 30 seconds more.

The original recipe called for vegetable oil, 1 tablespoon butter, and 1/2 teaspoon sugar.  I substituted olive oil instead, reduced the amount of butter by half, and used agave syrup as a natural sugar substitute.  Even with the modifications, the dish came out still smooth and rich, with just the right hint of sweetness from the agave.  I enjoyed the scallions/carrots alongside a big flaky salmon fillet.  Simple and delicious.

And now… back to work.

