Tags

, , , , ,

I wanted to make a salad to accompany our the main course for dinner – I’m all about eating lots of veggies.  I love a cornucopia of goodies tossed into a salad to keep things fun and exciting.

I had found some fresh baby corn during one of my shopping excursions and thought – perfect.  I had never seen fresh baby corn before and wanted to use them as an add-on.

Next on my list were beets.  I’ve never been a huge fan of the root vegetable, but I have found one variety that I enjoy most, by far – golden beets.  They are milder and less sweet than the red; and have an amazingly bright orange-red hue with a brilliant yellow stripped flesh inside.  I decided to include a couple of pictures just for reference.

Unfortunately I couldn’t find my golden beets this week, so I settled with some red ones.  I always try to look for baby beets whenever possible.  They are more tender and delicate than regular sized ones.

And of course we have our staples like tomatoes and greens.  I don’t especially like loading up my salad with an excessive amount of greens, but rather having all ingredients work together equally in unison.

Roasted Beets:

Ingredients:
1 bunch of beets, unpeeled, scrubbed and stems removed
¼ tsp sea salt
1 tbs extra virgin olive oil

**Save the beet greens for another use!!!

Equipment:
Aluminum foil
Cooking dish

Preheat oven to 425ºF.  I simply roast them covered in the oven with a little olive oil and salt, until knife tender, approximately 45-60 minutes.

Once cool enough to handle, peel skin.  Skin should come right off.  Chop into bit sized pieces.

Chopped Veggie Salad:

*Be sure to chopped all ingredients the same size.

Ingredients:
2 cups stemmed arugula, thinly chopped
2 cups mixed organic spring mix, thinly chopped
6 fresh baby corns, chopped
1 cup heirloom tomatoes, chopped
1 cup roasted beets, chopped
½ cup Parmigiano-Reggiano, shaved
Sea salt and pepper, to taste

Equipment:
Vegetable peeler

Dressing:
2 tbs sherry vinegar
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

Make cheese shavings with the help of the handy-dandy vegetable peeler.  Then combine all ingredients together, set aside until ready to toss.  Salad can be made ahead of time.  Dress the salad JUST prior to serving.  No soggy salads allowed.   Drizzle sherry vinegar and olive oil into salad, salt and pepper to taste.  Add more dressing if needed – I like my salads lightly dressed.

Bon appetit!  Hope you enjoy it…

Serves two.

