Tags

, ,

The first day of autumn in the Northern Hemisphere arrived September 23, 2011 (Sept-Dec).  And as sadly indiscernible as it is in So Cal, temperatures are beginning to drop ever so slightly – we dash out of bed just a bit quicker and scurry into the bathroom just a bit sooner; a thin layer of dew covers the car in the morning; and days seem to grow shorter.

During this transitional phase between seasons, I allow my weekly farmers market excursions to dictate my shopping list – buying locally best guarantees: freshness, peak flavor, and most importantly support to our local farmers.



Things I am considering for my next walk down the fruit and vegetable aisles:

Apples
Arugula
Beets
Broccoli
Brussels sprouts
Cabbage
Cauliflower
Chicories (endive, escarole, radicchio)
Celeriac (celery root)
Fennel
Figs
Garlic
Grapes
Green beans
Leeks
Onions
Root vegetables (carrots, parsnips, rutabagas, turnips)
Quinces
Pears
Persimmons
Pomegranates
Winter squashes (acorn, butternut, pumpkin, spaghetti)

Cooking with seasonal ingredients allows me to enhance my repertoire of recipes and provides a challenge to use various cooking techniques, keeping menus fun and exciting. And with a little imagination, I often surprise myself!

With that being said, I think I will try making a roasted garlic and onion aioli and serving that with roasted artichokes or a nice lightly toasted rare roast beef sandwich dressed with baby arugula, and a big fat slice of vine-ripened tomato.

I’m getting hungry now.

What’s on your shopping and idea list for Fall?

