Tags

,

A question that I ask myself every day – as do most people: what am I making for dinner tonight?  With today’s sweltering heat, we hit a high of 101 degrees!  On my way home, it was still a blistering 92 degrees.

My first thought was something cool and refreshing – a cold Japanese noodle salad came to mind.  This is commonly served during summer months, but given how warm it was, it deemed appropriate.

Immediately, I began visualizing what I had in the fridge – good I thought,  I have most of the ingredients already on
hand such as kaiware sprouts, green onions, tomatoes, ham and avocados.

I made a quick stop at my local Japanese market, Mitsuwa to pick up the last of what I needed.  While there, I saw a nice piece of sashimi grade tuna and decided to add that as an accompaniment with the salad.

Mission accomplished, at least for tonight!

Salad Ingredients:
1/4 lb ham, cut into small pieces
Kaiware sprouts, 1/2 pkg
4 sticks imitation crab, thinly sliced
1/2 tomato, thinly sliced
1/2 romaine heart, cut into small bite size pieces
1/2 Japanese/Persian cucumber, thinly sliced
1/2 – 1 whole Hass avocado (depending on size), thinly sliced
2 cups fresh bean sprouts, lightly boiled
10 oz Japanese ramen noodles
1 large bowl
2 cups ice
Japanese hot mustard (optional)

Salad dressing:
3 tbs soy sauce
3 tbs rice vinegar
2 tbs water
1 tbs roasted sesame seeds
2 tbs sugar
1/4 tsp sesame oil
1 tbs grape seed oil
2 green onions, thinly sliced, green part only
Japanese hot mustard, small dab

Tuna Sashimi:
1/4 lb sashimi grade tuna, sliced
soy sauce
wasabi


Preparation:
Chop and thinly slice all ingredients, except bean sprouts and noodles, set aside.

Combine all ingredients for salad dressing, set aside.

In a small pot, bring a pot of lightly salted water to a boil.  Boil bean sprouts for 3 minutes, then drain and let cool.

Bring another pot of water to a boil, add noodles and cook for 3 minutes, do not overcook.  Pot of water can potentially overflow, if heat is high.  As a precaution do not leave unattended – I hate when this happens.  Drain and run under cold running water for two minutes to rinse off all starchy residue – very important.

Fill bowl with ice and water, set noodles in ice bath to chill.

Drain noodles and set aside.

Assembling Noodle Salad:

Plate noodles center on dish.  Place all chopped ingredients on top of noodles and serve with dressing.

Any and all vegetables and meats can be used.  The toppings are limitless, choose what you like – I personally love extra veggies.  The mustard gives the salad a nice punch.

Serves: 2-3

Enjoy!

